The Doctoral and Early Career Research (DECR) Committee is a volunteer board that drives the Association for Art History’s doctoral and early career research events and initiatives. Through the DECR network we are able to provide a support system and platforms for current PhD students and Early Career Researchers engaged with art history and visual culture.

The DECR works with the Association to deliver an extensive annual programme of events and initiatives.

The Professional Development Day (For Undergraduates, PhD ECRs), the annual Summer Symposium (for late stage PhD students and ECRs), and the one-day New Voices conference (for MA and new PhD students). The DECR committee will be launching a Reading Group this Spring and is also responsible for shortlisting our Annual Conference DECR bursaries, and the annual Undergraduate Dissertation Prize and Postgraduate Dissertation Prize.

The DECR committee is made of 12-15 people, from across the UK, who are at different stages in their research career. The DECR board meets 4 times a year.

If you would like to get in touch with the DECR Committee please email:

DECR Committee Members

Sonny Ruggiero (Chair) | University of Edinburgh (Edinburgh College of Art)

Alia Soliman | PhD from University College London, Lecturer of Cultural and Visual Studies at New York University Abu Dhabi

Amy Melia (Deputy Chair) | PhD from Liverpool John Moores University, PLACED

Bea Gassmann de Sousa | PhD from University College London, Collaborative Researcher for TATE Modern

Cai Lyons | PhD from University of Birmingham

Danielle Smith | PhD from University of Edinburgh, Opal Art Ltd.

Lavinia Amenduni |Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich

Marjotte Miles | University of Liverpool, Lancaster University, Liverpool John Moores University, and National Museums Liverpool (NML)

Nancy Ba | Sorbonne Université (Centre André Chastel)

Nikki Kane | PhD from University of Edinburgh, Lecturer in Creative Industries in History of Art at University of Glasgow

Olivia Garro | Coventry University

Pragya Sharma | University of Brighton

Sean Cham | Birkbeck, University of London, and The National Gallery, London

Senah Tuma | University of Cambridge

DECR Committee bios

Images: Participants at the Art Out of Place Summer Symposium 2023, at the Glasgow Women’s Library, convened by DECR members Jess Bailey, Sonny Ruggiero and Nikki Kane (pictured l-r, at furthest right).

Web Design SkiptonWeb Developer Skipton

Copyright 2024. All Rights Reserved