ATE Normandie / ENSA Normandie, 21-22 March 2019, Rouen, France

The purpose of the colloquium is to examine the career paths and professional practices, as well as the production of three French architects from the same generation who seem to share a common vision of modernity. It also addresses the question of traces, the appropriation and the contemporary reinterpretation, both theoretical and material, of their architectural or urban theories.

If the contribution of Marcel Lods has today a full recognition in the history of architecture, those of Michel Roux-Spitz and Jean Walter could be better explored. The role that each of these three architects played in the architectural scene during their respective lifetimes seems considerable if we look closely at the volume of projects handled within their respective offices, their positions, sometimes equivocal vis-à-vis the profession, or their implications in theoretical debates.

In a first session, it is proposed, to reconsider their productions, doctrinal positions and methods in relationship to each other and to their contemporaries, in order to address, in a second, the way they were grasped, apprehended, and revisited afterwards, both conceptually and formally, from a historiographical and social point of view.


  • Abstract Deadline: 30 October 2018
  • Announcement of Decisions: 30 November 2018
  • Submission of Presentation Text: 31 January 2019
  • Registration Deadline: 28 February 2019
  • Conference: 21-22 March 2019

Sending proposals:

The call for papers is addressed to the academic communities of architectural schools and universities as well as professionals in architecture and urban planning who have taken a theoretical or operational position in relationship to the productions of these three architects. Original approaches establishing a comparative framework, and developing parallel and contextualized readings, and studies opening up stimulating perspectives and working with new documentary sources will be privileged.

Proposals should be sent in the form of an abstract of up to 3,000 characters (spaces included), highlighting the theme and methodological approach. This text will be accompanied by a biography from the author(s) limited to 400 signs (spaces included).The summary is to be sent before 30 October 2018 to the following

Scientific Committee:·

  • Yvan DELEMONTEY, Associate Professor, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne
  • Laurent DEVISME, Professor, ENSA Nantes
  • Marie GAIMARD, Adjunct Assistant Professor, ENSA Paris La Villette and ENSA Normandy
  • Milena GUEST, Associate Professor, ENSA Normandy
  • Caroline MANIAQUE, Professor, ENSA of Normandy
  • Valérie NEGRE, Professor, University of Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne
  • Danièle VOLDMAN, Professor, Research Director Emeritus, CNRS
  • Pieter UYTTENHOVE, Professor, University of Ghent