Tate Modern

In December 1992 the Tate Trustees announced their intention to create a separate gallery for international modern and contemporary art in London. The former Bankside Power Station was selected as the new gallery site in 1994 and opened in May 2000. In 2009 Tate embarked on a major project to develop Tate Modern. Tate Modern is one of the four Tate galleries.

Visit the Tate Modern website